Moving forward

I’d like to start this blog off by sharing a little bit about a man who continues to inspire me and to fuel my creativity to this day. His name was Monty Oum.

I was first introduced to Monty’s work in the form of a silly animation to the K-pop band Girls Generation song “Gee.” I was intrigued and kept following his work, first an animation called Dead Fantasy that he created in his spare time and then, finally, a show called RWBY. I loved everything about RWBY–from the character designs, to the world-building, to the plot and music. As I became invested in the show, I learned more about its creator too. Monty was endlessly positive and constantly creative. His personal motto, Keep Moving Foward, is a perfect embodiment of his world view. He inspired me as a creator in a way that no one else ever has, by how he lived his own life.

Just over two years go, Roosterteeth, the animation studio he worked for, posted an announcement that Monty was in the hospital in serious condition. My friends and I, and his fans around the world waited for word. On February 1st, two years ago today, we learned that he had passed away. Even trying to write this now, I find myself blinking away tears. I loved Monty as a dear friend, even though I never got the chance to meet him in person. His life, his creative vision, is still touching people around the world. It still impacts me. Whenever I feel like I’m stuck in a rut, I just think of him and it inspires me to press on.

On February 4th, I will be posting my first tutorial as part of the Monty Oum Project, which seeks to get people to honor Monty’s memory by creating. Until then, Keep Moving Forward!

This one’s for you, Monty.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

